Miami - États-Unis

2024-03-19 / 2024-03-31

  • Tournament type : WTA
  • Tennis court type : Hard

A combined event created in 1985 by the former player Butch Buchholz, this Floridian tournament started in Delray Beach, then moved to Boca Raton the next year. It finally found a permanent berth in Key Biscayne at the Crandon Park Tennis Center. Overseen by former world number four James Blake, the tournament has been played in the Hard Rock Stadium, home to the Miami Dolphins, since 2019. The tournament is usually played in March on a hard surface and draws a very high calibre of play from men and women. The event was once dominated by Americans, but the winners have become more international. On the men’s side, Andre Agassi and Novak Djokovic share the record for most titles with six each, while Serena Williams reigns among women with eight titles. Five-time finalist Rafael Nadal has never managed to win it. He came close to victory in 2005. In his second match against Roger Federer, the Spaniard ‒ 18 at the time ‒ was up two sets to none and 4-1 before succumbing 6-2, 7-6, 6-7, 3-6, 1-6.

Last winners