Paris - France

2024-10-28 / 2024-11-03

  • Tournament type : ATP
  • Tennis court type : Hard

Created in 1986, the Paris-Bercy tournament, which has had many names, became a Masters 1000 event in Paris 1990. It quickly became the world’s biggest indoor tournament outside of the Masters series. It is traditionally scheduled as the last Masters 1000 competition, right before the ATP Finals. The Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy, which is now known as AccorHotels Arena, has hosted the event from its inception. Boris Becker, then Marat Safin were the first to rule the tournament (three titles), before Novak Djokovic posted five victories. But Paris (known for along time as BNP Paribas Masters) is also a competition that has been kind to the French over its history. Three French players have hoisted the trophy. Guy Forget played five sets to beat Pete Sampras in the 1991 final. In 2007 the final format was changed to best of three sets. Sébastien Grosjean (2001) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008) also thrilled the Bercy crowds by winning in Paris and, at the same time, earning a place in the ATP Finals. Jo’s journey was a stunning one, with victories over Djokovic, Roddick, Blake and Nalbandian in the final.

Last winners