Rome - Italie

2024-05-07 / 2024-05-18

  • Tournament type : WTA
  • Tennis court type : Clay

The Italian Open has been a combined event since its founding in 1930 and has always been played on clay. It was held in Milan until 1934, when it moved definitively to Rome and the old, legendary Foro Italico, a stadium built in the 1920s. In 1961, the competition moved to Turin, before returning to its Roman home the following year. For the women, there were a few “movements” in the early 1980s before a permanent return to Rome in 1987. Of course the list of winners is rich in history and admired names. Chris Evert played in seven finals and holds the most singles trophies (five). Rafael Nadal is the obvious master of the house with 9 titles from 11 finals. His victories in 2005 and 2006 are monumental in the history of tennis, with wins earned through a fifth set tie-break against, respectively, Guillermo Coria and Roger Federer. It would be hard to pick one over the other, but here is a recap of the “Fedal” of the day, after the Swiss player had missed two match points...