Shanghai - Chine

2024-10-02 / 2024-10-13

  • Tournament type : ATP
  • Tennis court type : Hard

Since 2009, the ATP tournament in Shanghai has been a Masters 1000 event. The competition takes place in the Qi Zhong Stadium, which is famous for its retractable roof in the form of a rose with eight steel petals. The stadium was previously home to the men’s “Masters” tournament, between 2005 and 2008. From 1996 to 2004, Shanghai was also a smaller scale ATP competition. Today it is the biggest men’s tournament played on Asian soil. It is played outdoors on hard courts under changing game conditions because the roof is open sometimes. Novak Djokovic has won the title four times. No one has bested him, though Andy Murray has been victorious on three occasions. Roger Federer has two titles. Among the French, Gilles Simon in 2014 and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in 2015 have made it to the final. One of its best finals came in 2013 when Novak Djokovic defeated Juan Martin Del Potro after a hard-fought battle to win his 15th career ATP Masters 1000 title. A number he has significantly increased since then!

Last winners