Monte-Carlo - Monaco

2024-04-07 / 2024-04-14

  • Tournament type : ATP
  • Tennis court type : Clay

Since 1928, the magnificent, world renowned Monte Carlo Country Club in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin has hosted one of the most prestigious men’s clay tournaments. The event was founded in 1897 on the courts of Lawn Tennis Monte Carlo. That means it is one of the oldest in tennis. Usually slotted in the ATP calendar in April as the first of the European clay tournaments, it is nearly the exclusive domain of clay specialists. At the base of The Rock, Rafael Nadal has earned 11 titles, including eight consecutive victories from 2005 to 2012. Ilie Nastase, Guillermo Vilas, Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Gustavo Kuerten, Tomas Muster and Novak Djokovic are some of the famous players to have more than one Monte Carlo title. The list does not include Roger Federer, who has never won in the principality. One of his defeats made waves in French tennis, when he conceded a quarter-final match in 2005 to the 18-year old Richard Gasquet, who ranked 101st at the time.

Last winners