WTA Finals

For Worth - États-Unis

2023-10-29 / 2023-11-07

  • WTA

  • Hard

The WTA Finals are also referred to as the Women’s Masters, similar to men’s tennis. It convenes the best singles players of the season (8 or 16 depending on the year; 8 since 2013) and the top doubles teams. The first edition was held on the clay courts of Boca Raton in 1972. After a few moves, the competition settled into Madison Square Garden in New York from 1979 to 2000 and delivered many moments of glory. Other cities have also hosted: Munich (2001), Los Angeles (2002-2005), Madrid (2006 and 2007), Doha (2008-2010), Istanbul (2011-2013) and Singapore (2014-2018). In 2019, the event relocated to Shenzhen, China. With 8 titles and 14 finals, Martina Navratilova is the queen of singles play at the WTA Finals, whose usually indoor courts were a showcase for her game. The list of winners for these finals known as the “BNP Paribas WTA Finals” from 2011 to 2018 is, of course, full of well-known names, including Amélie Mauresmo, who won in 2005 in Los Angeles after defeating fellow French player Mary Pierce in spectacular final.

Last winners